Now that you’ve been injured, you may have incurred bills from the ambulance, hospital ER, and now you’re facing chiropractic and physical therapy bills. All Utah auto policies have the following basic coverages – yours might be higher, but these are the minimums.
All Utah auto insurance polices must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Unless you’ve been involved in an accident before, you likely won’t know how this works. PIP is a “no-fault” coverage. This means that PIP will pay if you are injured – it doesn’t matter who caused the accident, you or the other party. At some point in the future, the insurance of the at-fault party will reimburse all other insurances which have paid PIP. PIP is per person, meaning the medical coverage is per person involved in the accident.
It is not uncommon to spend the entire $3000 in PIP coverage in the ambulance ride and getting checked out in the emergency department at the hospital. Fortunately, there are other coverages which then kick in after the PIP has exhausted.
First, the at-fault party liability coverage would be billed. The state minimum is $65,000/$25,000. If more insurance is needed after that, it sometimes is possible to use the uninsured motorist/under insured motorist (UM/UIM) portion of your auto insurance. In serious injuries, this can get complicated and sometimes using an attorney may be helpful. We can help guide you to reputable and effective local attorneys.
If you are at fault in the accident, then you still can use your PIP and then you will need to pay directly for care after that, or use health insurance plans. In Utah, there is only one person at fault in an accident, and that is the person who was driving the vehicle which is found to be at fault. Passengers in an automobile are not at fault in any accident. So, if you have a single car accident in the snow, and you are a passenger, you have access to the PIP of the car, plus the liability insurance of that car. The insurance is there to protect you.
Generally Speaking, There is Enough Insurance, however, this is sometimes not true in all cases. Attorneys are useful at finding insurance polices and helping to fund the treatment that you need. If there is not enough insurance, we will work with you to ensure that you have as many options as possible. Please call and discuss these issues with Dr. Page and he will do everything in his power to help you.
Many are afraid to use their PIP insurance because they are afraid their auto insurance premiums will rise. This is not true. PIP payments are not included in premium calculation. If you use them or not, they don’t figure into the calculation of your premium. If you are at fault in an accident, your rates will go up. That is true. But PIP is not one of the factors.
If you are concerned about this, please call your agent and ask – he will confirm this for you. The law in Utah is this way in order to help those who are injured receive the care they need.
Learn how you can get free care for your accident.